On 3/28/2012 2:30 PM, James Silverton wrote:
> I'm not all that worried about cruelty to bugs. Cochineal has been used
> since the fifteenth century.
> Bugging Out: Vegetarians Upset With Starbucks’ Use of Beetle Extract
> By Tim Newcomb
> In an effort to avoid artificial additives in its drinks, Starbucks got
> vegetarians peeved by using a new ingredient in its strawberry products,
> ABC News reports. That ingredient? Extract from dried, crushed cochineal
> beetles, as part of its red dye.
> Read more: http://newsfeed.time.com/#ixzz1qRfWTCGk
I'm not up in arms about the use of cochineal either. But beetles are
animals and animals were utilized to make this beverage, and as such it
is not vegan.