Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: opinions on 'cides?

  1. #1
    Mel
    Mel is offline Assistant Cook
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default opinions on 'cides?

    whats your opinions on using pesticides, fungicides, insecticides, etc. Especially with the whole organic movement?

  2. #2
    AgentXu is offline Assistant Cook
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    I live in Seattle.
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm a big fan of pesticides, fungicides, insecticides and genetically engineered food. With the population on the rise and land at an absolute premium we need all the food we can get out of the Earth sans the bugs and disease that eat and kill them.

    If you're ever curious about the miracles of G.E. food look up "Dwarf Wheat." Science has given the species the ability to shore up a precarious food supply.

    Thanks to things you've listed more of us are able to eat and better. Any argument to the contrary seems, frankly, invalid. More people are being better fed. Period.

    A.X.

  3. #3
    Noodles is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    307

    Default

    If tried the hands off gardening approach but the pests tend to like my veges better than weeds and stuff. This year I think I'm going to try sprays and chemicals.

  4. #4
    Michelle's Avatar
    Michelle is offline Cook
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    107

    Default

    I'm all for using chemicals when necessary (better than letting a crop fail) but before that I would try identifying the pest and releasing its natural predator.

  5. #5
    NYCLipo's Avatar
    NYCLipo is offline Senior Cook
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    284

    Default

    It not actually healthy when your trying to use some insecticides on organic food. I don't know but I'm not using any. But thanks god I'm still harvesting fresh and toxic free veggies. Good for my health and body as well as good for mother earth.

  6. #6
    henrycalhoun51 is offline Assistant Cook
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I agree, what food is the food if it is carrying toxins in it. We have now stripped the soild so much with these toxic chemicals that organges for example are showing up on store shelves with literally no vitamin C and very little if any other nutrients. Pesticides are not needed, otehr countires prove this easily, it is all about business here in the US

  7. #7
    BraisedOctopus is offline Assistant Cook
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    NO GO. I grew up helping my dad and he did things the old fashioned way. Bugs weren't much of a problem, but with pests and critters he resorted to old school scarecrows (usually just strips of brightly colored cloth), or homemade fences and barriers. We lost some things here and there but we always had a decent harvest (especially considering our very limited space). It worked then and it still works now.


    However, genetically modified superfruit? No prob.

  8. #8
    Noodles is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    307

    Default

    I've started to use some organic pest and fungus control, seems to be working so far. We've had a bumper crop of strawberries and broccoli so far and the tomatoes are coming through nicely.

  9. #9
    RedTomato's Avatar
    RedTomato is offline Assistant Cook
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I rather not use them, but if I have no choice then I will.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32